One of the important decisions taken by the Centenary Celebrations Committee of Babasaheb Dr.B.R.Ambedkar was the institution of Dr Ambedkar National Award.


The Dr. Ambedkar National Award was instituted in the year 1992.  The award is given for the work done for social understanding and upliftment of weaker sections.  Selection is made on the basis of a published work or a mass movement, which has made considerable impact on the quality of life of the weaker sections of the society.  The Jury shall also consider efforts made towards integrating the weaker sections into the mainstream of Indian society and working for their socio-economic and educational upliftment.  Nominations can only be submitted through competent authority who have been listed as per Section IV of the Code of Procedure.  One award shall be given every year, which shall carry an amount of Rs 10.00 lakhs and a citation.


The Jury consists of seven members who shall all be Indian Nationals.  The Jury constituted for selecting the awardees is the Hon'ble Vice President of India, Chairman, Hon'ble Chief Justice of India, Vice-Chairman, and members are an eminent journalist, an eminent educationist, a person who has done outstanding work for the upliftment of weaker sections and two eminent persons from public life in India.


The award symbolizes the vision of Babasaheb Dr.B.R. Ambedkar for social understanding and national integrity.


The Award for the year 1993 was given to National Institute of Social Work & Social Sciences (NISWASS) Bhubaneswar (Orissa).  The award for the year 1994 was given to Ryat Shikshan Sansthan, Satara (Maharashtra).


The award for the year 1996 was conferred on Ramakrishna Mission Ashram, Bastar (District), Madhya Pradesh. For the year 1998 the award was presented to Kasturba Gandhi Kanya Gurukulam, Vedaraniam, Tamilnadu.